Broadway In Chicago Main Logo

2017 Illinois High School Musical Theatre Awards winners announced!

In celebration of outstanding achievement in high school musical theatre performances, Broadway In Chicago is thrilled to announce the award recipients of the Sixth Annual Illinois High School Musical Theatre Awards: Justin Smusz of Bolingbrook, IL (Benet Academy) as BEST ACTOR for his portrayal of Chad in ALL SHOOK UP and Carly Meyer of Northbrook, IL (Glenbrook North High School) as BEST ACTRESS for her portrayal of Hodel in FIDDLER ON THE ROOF. Justin and Carly will represent the state of Illinois at The Jimmy™ Awards in New York on June 26, 2017.

York Community High School was awarded the Best Production Award for their production of WEST SIDE STORY and Cary-Grove High School was awarded the Grosh Scenic Design Award, celebrating excellence in scenic design, for their production of EVITA. Lauren Condon and Brian Wand were awarded the Best Direction Award for their direction of Benet Academy’s production of ALL SHOOK UP.

On Monday, June 5, Broadway In Chicago crafted a full day of workshops with theatre professionals for twenty-four nominees that culminated in a performance on stage at the Broadway Playhouse at Water Tower Place.  During the day, nominees auditioned for a panel of casting agents and theatre professionals who chose the recipients of performance awards.

In addition to the day of workshops featuring Chicago actor Jonathan Weir (Jafar) in Disney’s Aladdin North American tour and Disney Teaching Artist Kelly Jacobs who previously performed in Chicago in Disney’s Mary Poppins North American tour, nominees will receive tickets to Disney’s Aladdin in Chicago, currently playing at Broadway In Chicago’s Cadillac Palace Theatre through Sept. 10, 2017.

Justin Smusz and Carly Meyer will be provided with an all-expense paid trip to New York City to participate in a week-long theatre intensive of coaching and rehearsals with industry professionals in preparation for a one-night-only showcase on Broadway, where a panel of judges crowns the nation’s top performers. They will represent the state of Illinois at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards, on Broadway, on  Monday, June 26, 2017. The National High School Musical Theatre Awards, also known as The Jimmy™ Awards, are named for legendary Broadway theater owner and producer James M. Nederlander. Broadway In Chicago is a Nederlander presentation, and is excited to join the network of theatres across the country participating in The Jimmys™.